How to walk your way back to health and feeling better!

Having trouble keeping in shape? We can help each other...even if you're not overweight, we all need healthy hearts and lungs and muscles.

Moderators: Mike Brooks, Gary

Do you walk for exercise?

Yes
89%
No
11%

Total votes : 9

How to walk your way back to health and feeling better!

Postby Mike Brooks » Mon Oct 29, 2007 5:55 pm

Believe it or not, walking is the best way to get back into shape. Its safe, you don't need a membership to walk. No special equipment needed. If you want help and encouragement let's figure out what kind of shape you are in and put together a walking program just for you. Walking has helped me a great deal to lose weight, I felt so much better after losing 40 pounds. Are you ready? Take that first step and let's get started!

The Absolute Beginner Schedule
Health goals: Walking a half hour a day or 3 hours per week is associated with a decreased risk of heart disease. Walking 7 hours a week is associated with a decreased risk of breast cancer and Type II diabetes. For this reason, I recommend that you build up to walking an hour a day, most days of the week.
Track your walks: Keeping records will keep you on track.

Build a Habit: Walk at least 5 days a week, even if some days you must decrease your time, in order to build your new healthy habit.

Increase the time you spend walking each week before working on speed.
Week 1: Start with a daily 15 minute walk at an easy pace.
Walk five days the first week. We want to build a habit, so consistency is important. Spread out your rest days, such as making day 3 a rest day and day 6 a rest day.
Weekly total goal: 60 - 75 minutes.

Week 2: Add 5 minutes a day so you are walking 20 minutes, 5 days a week. Or you may wish to extend yourself more on some days, followed by a rest day.
Weekly total goal: 75 - 100 minutes.

Week 3: Add 5 minutes a day so you are walking 25 minutes, 5 days a week.
Weekly total goal: 100 - 125 minutes.